Lifetime Mac
Writing, notes & markdown

Marked 3

Markdown preview and export with a permanent unlock option

Price: $69.99 once

Lifetime tierA one-time plan of a subscription app

Price read on markedapp.com, the page Buy direct opens.

The catch

The $69.99 permanent unlock is introductory pricing and returns to $89.99 later

The full picture

The introductory pricing applies to the subscriptions as much as to the unlock, so compare like with like: $29.99 a year against $69.99 once now, or $49.99 a year against $89.99 once when the intro period ends. Either way the one-time route is cheapest while the intro holds. The unlock is still priced well above the old Marked 2 licence, which is still sold at $14.99 but is not the version being actively developed. Marked previews files, it does not edit them, so you still need an editor. Mac only.

Pays back in
21 months
Seats
Not stated
Developer account
None needed
Buy once$69.99Rent 5 years$200

$130 kept over five years, and you still have the app.
Against Ulysses at $40 a year, $39.99 a year for the all-in-one writing app people buy instead. Also replaces Marked 3 monthly and yearly subscriptions.

What it looks like

Images belong to their developers.

What you’re buying

Marked does one job: it watches a markdown file you are editing somewhere else and shows you what it will become. You keep writing in BBEdit, iA Writer, VS Code, Obsidian or whatever you already trust, and Marked refreshes on save. That division of labour is why writers who refuse all-in-one apps keep it in the Dock for years.

The preview is a publishing tool rather than a pretty pane. Point it at MultiMarkdown, Pandoc, Discount or a processor of your own; style it with your site's own CSS so what you see is what the page will look like; generate a table of contents; export a scoped chunk — one section, one file, or a folder stitched together in order — to PDF or HTML. It also counts words, flags words you have repeated too often, and scores readability.

Version 3 is sold mainly by subscription, currently $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year, with a permanent unlock at $69.99 that goes to $89.99 once the introductory period ends. Marked 2 is still available outright at $14.99 if all you want is a window that renders markdown.

If you write markdown occasionally and only need to check that a list looks right, your editor's built-in preview is enough and this is an expensive habit. Marked earns the unlock when export is part of your actual work — when the PDF you hand someone comes out of it every week.

What owners report

Points that recur across the discussions below. A report of what users say, not our verdict: we don’t review software.

Praised

  • Owners describe it as the other half of a pair: they keep writing in BBEdit, Obsidian or MarkEdit and reach for Marked when a PDF or HTML file has to come out
  • Export and custom-style handling are what long-time users say no editor they have tried replaces

Criticised

  • Price is the loudest recurring theme at the Marked 3 launch: multiple owners call it steep for a previewer and say they will stay on Marked 2, on Setapp, or on pandoc
  • Marked 2 owners repeatedly asked for an upgrade discount and found none at launch; a Mac App Store 'Marked Pro' build that credits the old purchase was announced later in the same thread

Details

The price in full

Everything is on introductory pricing right now. Permanent Unlock: $69.99 intro, $89.99 regular. Subscriptions: $2.99 a month intro ($4.99 regular) or $29.99 a year intro ($49.99 regular). "Marked 3 Pro" on the Mac App Store is the same app sold as a $69.99 one-time purchase, aimed at enterprise buyers and at Marked 2 owners upgrading without in-app purchase. The older Marked 2 is still sold outright at $14.99. Free trial download available direct.

The Marked 3 page at markedapp.com
The developer’s own page. markedapp.com, captured 22 Sep 2026
Free trial
Yes
Works offline
Yes
Apple Silicon
Native
On Setapp
No
Minimum macOS
not stated
Developer
Brett Terpstra

Also bought outright