Lifetime Mac
Privacy, security & networking

Enpass

Password manager that keeps the vault in your own cloud account

Price: $99.99 once

Lifetime tierA one-time plan of a subscription app

Price read on apps.apple.com, the page Buy on the App Store opens.

The catch

The lifetime tier is only reliably buyable as an App Store in-app purchase

The full picture

Enpass appears to have quietly dropped lifetime from its own website, where the longest direct term is now a multi-year plan, so the $99.99 purchase we can actually see is the in-app one — which ties the licence to your Apple Account rather than to an Enpass login. Lifetime is single-user Premium, not Family, so a household still pays for the Family plan. Sync runs on your own cloud account, meaning the storage cost, quota and outages are yours to handle. Business plans are subscription-only, and the client is closed source.

Pays back in
19 months
Seats
Not stated
Developer account
None needed
Buy once$99.99Rent 5 years$325

$225 kept over five years, and you still have the app.
Against Dashlane Premium at $65 a year, current App Store in-app annual price. Also replaces 1Password Individual at $48 a year, LastPass and NordPass.

What it looks like

Images belong to their developers.

What you’re buying

Enpass is the password manager for people whose objection to 1Password is architectural rather than financial. There is no Enpass account and no Enpass server holding your vault: the encrypted file sits in your iCloud Drive or Dropbox folder, or on a WebDAV box you run, or on the machine and nowhere else. Enpass sells the software; you provide the plumbing. That also means the recovery story is yours — lose the master password and there is nobody to escalate to.

Practically it is a broad, slightly utilitarian app: five platforms, browser extensions, TOTP, passkeys, multiple vaults, biometric unlock. It is less handsome than its rivals and more willing to let you see the mechanism.

Buy it for the $99.99 lifetime purchase, but buy it knowing where that purchase now lives. The website's pricing has drifted toward multi-year plans and the lifetime SKU we could verify is the in-app one on the App Store, which makes the licence an Apple purchase. If you need the same licence to cover Windows and Linux machines and you want it bought direct, check with Enpass before paying for anything. And if a single vault on iCloud for one person is all you need, the free tier and Apple's own Passwords app may already cover you.

What owners report

Points that recur across the discussions below. A report of what users say, not our verdict: we don’t review software.

Praised

  • Owners repeatedly give the same reason for choosing it: the vault is a file in storage they control, whether that is local-only, iCloud or their own WebDAV server
  • Several long-term users report it has simply kept working across macOS, iOS and Windows for years, and speak well of the support they have had

Details

The price in full

Free download with in-app purchases. Read on the Mac App Store listing itself (a Mac-only listing, macOS 12.0 or later): "Enpass Premium Lifetime" is $99.99 one-time, alongside Enpass Premium at $23.99, Enpass Premium (3 Years) at $47.99, and Enpass Family at $47.99. Enpass's own pricing page now reads cleanly and confirms the gap — it lists Free at $0, a Premium plan at $1.99 a month billed annually, a three-year Premium option at $49.99, and Family at $3.99 a month, with no lifetime tier anywhere on it. So the App Store in-app purchase is the only route to lifetime that is verifiably open today.

Free trial
Yes
Works offline
Yes
Apple Silicon
Native
On Setapp
No
Minimum macOS
not stated
Developer
Enpass Technologies Private Limited

Also bought outright