Lifetime Mac
Email, calendar & tasks

GoodTask

Power-user front end for Apple Reminders and Calendar

Price: $39.99 once

PerpetualUpdates included, forever

Price read on apps.apple.com, the page Buy on the App Store opens.

The catch

The iPhone and iPad app is a separate purchase from the Mac one

The full picture

iOS and iPadOS are a separate app and a separate purchase. Optional supporter purchases exist alongside the one-time price — nothing is locked behind them, but the listing is not strictly free of in-app purchases. Because GoodTask reads and writes Apple's Reminders and Calendar stores rather than its own database, you inherit their limits and sync reliability is iCloud's to get right. The app is on version 8.x and the developer describes the model as a one-time purchase; nothing in writing rules out a future major version arriving as a separate paid app. It is also on Setapp, so check that before buying if you already subscribe.

Pays back in
8 months
Seats
Not stated
Developer account
None needed
Buy once$39.99Rent 5 years$300

$260 kept over five years, and you still have the app.
Against Todoist Pro at $60 a year, $5 per month, $60 billed yearly. Also replaces TickTick Premium at $50 a year and Structured Pro.

What it looks like

Images belong to their developers.

What you’re buying

GoodTask is a better front end for the Reminders and Calendar databases you already have. It keeps nothing of its own: every task you create lands in Apple Reminders, so Siri, Shortcuts, the widget, the watch and your iPhone all keep working, and there is no second sync service to go wrong.

On top of that it adds most of what Apple left out. Smart lists assembled from filters on tags, dates and text. Quick Actions that push a task to tomorrow or swap its list in one click. Recurring tasks that repeat from when you finished rather than when they were due. Templates, and board, list, week and month views that put calendar events next to the tasks.

$39.99 once on the Mac App Store. The developer has said plainly on his own forum that this is a one-time purchase in both stores, with optional supporter purchases for people who want to contribute — nothing is paywalled behind them. The iPhone and iPad app is a separate purchase, and the app is on Setapp if you already subscribe there.

The cost of building on Apple's stores is that you inherit Apple's limits: anything Reminders cannot represent, GoodTask cannot either, and iCloud sync is Apple's to get right or wrong.

If stock Reminders already does what you need and you just want it to look nicer, stay where you are. Buy this at the point where you are fighting filters and repeating tasks.

What owners report

Points that recur across the discussions below. A report of what users say, not our verdict: we don’t review software.

Praised

  • Owners give the same reason for picking it over a standalone app: the tasks stay in Apple Reminders, so Siri, sharing and the rest of the system keep working
  • Smart lists and Quick Actions - filtering on a start date in particular - are named repeatedly as the specific things Reminders cannot do

Criticised

  • Posters in more than one thread describe it as fiddly to set up and less polished than Things, and say that is why they stopped using it

Details

The price in full

$39.99 one-time on the Mac App Store. The developer states on the official forum: "You can get one time purchase in both iOS and Mac App Store. There are supporting options but it's optional." The iPhone and iPad app is a separate purchase. A free trial is available direct from goodtaskapp.com, with no duration stated. GoodTask is also included in Setapp.

The GoodTask page at goodtaskapp.com
The developer’s own page. goodtaskapp.com, captured 22 Sep 2026
Free trial
Yes
Works offline
Yes
Apple Silicon
Native
On Setapp
Yes
Minimum macOS
not stated
Developer
haha Interactive

Also bought outright